MMORPG Info Logo The Classes and Souls

Part Three of the Getting Started with RIFT series exclusively available on MMORPG Info.

“In the Ascended class system, Soul Attunement is the player’s ability to commune with the souls of Telara’s honored dead and gain their powers and abilities. Each Calling has a unique selection of Souls that can be embraced by the player, providing nearly endless opportunity to discover the path that’s right for them!”
RIFT – Classes & Callings

There are four classes:

  • Cleric
  • Mage
  • Rogue
  • Warrior

Rogues and Mages are focused on DPS, Clerics on Healing abilities and Warriors are your Tanks, although there is generally one or two souls per class that focus on other abilities.

There are eight base souls per class and one purchased soul per class which requires 2,500 PvP favor.

Cleric Mage Rogue Warrior
Cabalist Archon Assassin Beastmaster
Druid Chloromancer Bard Champion
Inquisitor Dominator Bladedancer Paladin
Justicar Elemental Summoner Marksman Paragon
Purifier Necromancer Nightblade Reaver
Sentinel Pyromancer Ranger Riftblade
Shaman Stormcaller Riftstalker Void Knight
Warden Warlock Saboteur Warlord


The militant orders gird themselves in chainmail, and march into close combat wielding heavy, two-handed warhammers, or a simple combination of mace and shield. The more arcane priesthoods, meanwhile, wear cloth vestments, brandishing symbols of spiritual power such as staves, tomes, and totems.

The primary healing clerics are the Purifier, Sentinel and Warden. The Cabalist, Druid, Inquisitor and Shaman are offensive clerics with good DPS. The Justicar is a perfectly viable tank. Druids are a pet class.

The Cleric PvP soul (only obtainable by earning favor in PvP) is the Templar.


The art of weaving magic does not favor heavy armors that distract the senses and restrict movement. Though the Mage’s traditional light cloth robes leave their bodies vulnerable, their mind is their true bulwark. Mages employ a variety of arcane items such as staves, wands, tomes, and totems to focus their spell-casting. In addition, many Mages protect themselves in close combat with a simple edged weapon such as a dagger or short sword.

All of the Mages have some DPS but the offensive callings are listed as Elementalist, Necromancer, Pyromancer, Stormcaller and Warlock. Archons and Dominators act as a buffing/support class. Chloromancer is the only Mage which has a focus on healing. Elementalists and Necromancers are pet classes.

The Mage PvP soul (only obtainable by earning favor in PvP) is the Archmage.


Rogues prefer simple leather armor, leaving them unencumbered to move stealthily and make swift escapes. In close combat, a Rogue wields a light-weight sword or dagger in each hand. Never the sort to give up an advantage, many Rogues have also mastered the art of ranged combat with bows and firearms.

Assassin, Bladedancer and Nightblade are sneaky close-range rogues. Marksman, Ranger and Saboteur offer ranged DPS. Riftstalker is a toe-to-toe melee rogue for tanking. The Bard is a buffing class and strongest in a group. Rangers are a pet class.

The Rogue PvP soul (only obtainable by earning favor in PvP) is the Infiltrator.


Warriors are melee fighters who rely on heavy plate armor for protection as they close with their opponents. Many augment their armor with large, sturdy shields built to deflect even the fiercest blow. Others forgo this extra protection, wielding massive axes, swords, and glaives to cut a swath through their enemies.

Paladin, Reaver, Void Knight and Warlord are the traditional tanks. Beastmaster, Champion, Paragon and Riftblade offer more DPS. Beastmasters are a pet class.

The Warrior PvP soul (only obtainable by earning favor in PvP) is the Vindicator.

Next: Character Interface and Statistics


No comments yet

1 link to this page:

Leave a Reply